Creating Characters

As a writer I am always on the look-out for articles on building characters.  I liked this author’s take on researching characters.

If I had a photographic mind to capture the multitudes of personalities I’ve encountered over this Christmas season at the malls, I’d have enough characters to fill a book a month for the next ten years. Nevertheless, I don’t have that amazing mind, and it takes much work for me to craft my characters into dynamic, believable individuals. How about you?

Whatever your answer, if you want an instant education on the art of capturing characters perfectly, read Charles Dickens’ novels. He wrote what he knew and took most, if not all, of his characters from real life. In his day, he was known as a spokesman for the disadvantaged and the poor in England. He knew their plight well because he lived it. Click here to read the rest of this interesting article.

Donna

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on January 31, 2014, in Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Creating Characters.

Comments are closed.

