Misadventures of the Cholua Brothers – Dead Man Walking

The Story Behind the Story

(This week I will be running a series by author, Maggie Magoffin.)

Mothers’ Day 2014 was the day I got the germ of the idea for Misadventures of the Cholua Brothers.

Our daughter, Angie, and son-in-law, Matt, hosted a Mothers’ Day celebration at their home in Fountain, Colorado. In addition to our family, the event was attended by Matt’s mother, Lynn, his sister, Laura and her fiancée, David Cholowa.

After a lovely meal, several of us gathered in the family room where David began telling us about the coffee business he and his brother, Anthony, had established in Black Hawk in the fall of 2013. David, with his impressive background in advertising, marketing and branding, created an interesting legend about their business and that started my writer’s mind spinning with ideas. In summary, as the legend goes, David and Anthony are fifth generation miners who came to Colorado during the Pikes Peak Gold Rush of the 1860s. The family never found gold but found something better in high altitude roasted coffee. As with most legends, the tale is based on some truth, but I will not reveal their secrets as to what is true and what is legend because that would ruin the story.

During our drive home from Fountain that day, ideas for a story filled my mind and the next day I sat down and began writing Dead Man Walking. After completing and editing the first three chapters, I sent the story to my son-in-law, Matt and asked him what he thought. My thoughts were that I could write this little story about the Cholua Brothers and we could print and copy it ourselves in the fashion of a dime novel and sell them in the coffee store in Black Hawk. Matt loved the story and encouraged me to send those chapters to David. At that time, I was a bit hesitant to share the story before it was completed, but I took a chance and emailed what I had to David. To say he liked it was an understatement. I believe his return email later that day read something like, “Wow! Oh, yeah! Love it! Gotta talk soon!”

Several days later, David came to visit to discuss the book and he blew my mind. He is one of the few people in this world who can out talk me, but I found it difficult to get a word in as he told me first about his history in advertising and marketing and then launched into his ideas for the books. Yes, he did not see this as one little book, he saw it as a series of short stories, with one coming out every six months. He said we would use his current printer to print the books and we’d get them in the visitors centers in the area as well in all the locations that sold Cholua Bros. Coffee.

David knows a great deal about advertising and marketing but nothing about fiction writing or the publishing industry. He left that to me. He said he and his brother, who owns his own advertising firm in Chicago, would design the cover and back and I was in charge of everything inside.

That was in early June and on November 1st we launched Misadventures of the Cholua Brothers – Dead Man Walking. The second book Pistols and Petticoats is on track to release in April 2015.

Visit Maggie Magoffin

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on December 15, 2014, in Guest Author, Research, Writing Tips and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Misadventures of the Cholua Brothers – Dead Man Walking.

Comments are closed.

