Talent Or Hard Work?

Is it talent or hard work that make a difference? Are writers born with talent or is it possible to develop a writing career through hard work alone?

I’ve been studying various philosophies of success and mastery, in an attempt to better understand how to help writers reach their goals. I came across this idea that Talent is Overrated and that, in fact, it is hard work that leads people to master a skill or profession, not any kind of inborn ability.

I’ve written before that there may be a degree of innate talent or aptitude for writing a good book that contributes to a writer’s chances of success. But perhaps I’ve been wrong all this time? I find Geoff Colvin’s theories and his analysis of the research compelling. Read more.

Donna

Posted on January 24, 2015, in Research, Writing Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Talent Or Hard Work?.

Comments are closed.

