Interview with Margaret Buchanan

I am guest blogging on Ada Brownell’s blog, Ink From An Earthen Vessel tomorrow. The article is about “Interviewing Your Characters”.

The following interview is from the character, Margaret Buchanan, based on my novel Counterfeit Honor.

Interview of Margaret Buchanan, journalist with the Rocky Mountain News of Denver, who was on the spot as an eyewitness to the murder of both Thomas Waterman and Arthur Crawford by Sally Smithers of Book Reviews R Us.

BR: Hello, Margaret. Thank you for taking time to talk with us today.

MB: My pleasure, Sally.

BR: Your face has been on the front page of the News for several days now.

MB: Yes, and before that, I was buried in Section D under the Lifestyle column.

BR: Still, not a bad start to a journalism career. First job, right out of college, and you get on with the News.

MB: I agree it may seem like a good start, but obituaries and engagement parties isn’t the kind of writing I want to do. I want to make a difference with my writing.

BR: Don’t you think handling a loved one’s death in a compassionate way is important?

MB: That’s true, but it isn’t my life plan.

BR: So how did you land this job with the News?

MB: Truth be told, I wanted to prove to my parents that I could make it on my own in the very male oriented world of journalism. The News is the only paper that offered me a job.

BR: So tell us a little about your background.

MB: I was born and raised in Georgia, the daughter of southern gentility. My parents expected little else of me than to marry well and give them lots of grandchildren. I had other ideas.

BR: Such as?

MB: To have an adventure, to see more of the country than just Georgia peach groves, and to prove that women can do more than just become teachers or nurses or secretaries. After all, this is 1956, not 1856.

BR: Tell us about the murder.

MB: Which one?

BR: That’s right. You were right there to witness two murders. Were you afraid?

MB: Honestly, it happened so quickly I didn’t have time to be afraid. At least, not until later. Then my knees shook when I realized just how close I’d been to not just one killer, but two.

BR: Tell us about your policeman.

MB: First of all, he’s not my policeman. He’s very much his own man.

BR: What was your first impression of Trevor McGonigle?

MB: The first time I saw him, I knew instantly that my heart was in trouble. As was my story.

BR: Did you work well together on the case?

MB: We certainly did, so long as I didn’t write about it, didn’t investigate it, and gave him all the information I had.

BR: Doesn’t sound like you were getting a fair opportunity to put your best foot forward.

MB: That’s true. And then I also had to deal with a district attorney dogging my steps, a blackmailer with a huge grudge, and an editor who was being pressured to drop the series of stories.

BR: But it all worked out in the end, didn’t it?

MB: Yes, Sally, it all worked out.

BR: Well, Margaret, it sounds like you’re not going to give away any secrets.

MB: No, Sally, I’m not. If you want to know the ending, you’ll just have to read my articles.

BR: Thank you, Margaret. And dear readers, join us next week for an interview with Trevor McGonigle, the Denver Police officer who, along with Margaret, wrapped this case up in record time.

Posted on April 17, 2015, in Guest Author, Writing Tips. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interview with Margaret Buchanan.

Comments are closed.

