Interview with Trevor McGonigle

I am guest blogging on Ada Brownell’s blog, Ink From An Earthen Vessel today. The article is about “Interviewing Your Characters”. 

The following interview is from the character, Trevor McGonigle, based on my novel Counterfeit Honor.

 

Interview of Trevor McGonigle, detective with the Denver Police Department, who is in charge of the Waterman and Crawford murder investigations, by Sally Smithers of Book Reviews R Us.

BR: Hello, Detective. Or can I call you Trevor?

TM: Trevor is fine, Sally. Oops — sorry, I spilled my coffee. I guess I’m a little nervous.

BR: A big hulking man like you with a gun tucked into an underarm holster isn’t nervous of me, is he?

TM: Not of you, no. Just that this is my first interview.

BR: Understandable. Now, Trevor, tell us a little about yourself.

TM: Not much to tell. I was born in Denver, joined the Army after high school. I fought in the Korean War. After I came home, I joined the police force.

BR: You won a medal in the war, didn’t you? Tell us about that.

TM: I’d rather not talk about it.

BR: Oh, Trevor, our readers would love to hear about a war hero.

TM: I said, I’d rather not talk about it.

BR: Oh, those dark smoldering eyes are throwing daggers at me. I guess that topic is off limits. Tell us about being a policeman in Denver.

TM: I love my job.

BR: Didn’t we hear about some trouble with the mob?

TM: Nothing except they don’t like us and we don’t like them.

BR: Oh, Trevor, I think you’re being coy with me. Weren’t you instrumental in a big bust just a few weeks ago?

TM: Can’t talk about that. Next question.

BR: Oh, I love mysterious men. Okay, tell us about the Waterman murder.

TM: Thomas Waterman, the Democratic Party’s candidate for president, was killed at the Brown Palace. Your readers already know that, Sally.

BR: Yes, but they want the story behind the story. He was shot by a crazy man from out east, wasn’t he?

TM: We might not completely understand Arthur Crawford’s motivations, but I don’t think it’s fair to classify him as crazy.

BR: What drives a man to commit such an atrocious act?

TM: Desperation. I think he thought he’d done all he could by other means.

BR: So who killed Crawford?

TM: Could we talk about some of the programs the police department is involved in?

BR: A subtle segue into a new topic. You’re learning fast. Okay, I’ll bite. What are some of the other programs the police department is involved in?

TM: Well, we’ve been studying some of the larger departments around the country, such as New York City and Los Angeles. And we’re very close to implementing a narcotics squad, an internal affairs division, and community resource officers.

BR: What about women in the Denver Police?

TM: In the past, police matrons were relegated to being file clerks and evidence clerks. We are developing a program to integrate our female police officers into the regular ranks. Give them the same chance at promotion that the men have.

BR: Interesting. Tell us about Margaret Buchanan.

TM: You probably know as much about her as I do.

BR: I doubt that, Trevor. You’ve been seen around town socially.

TM: I’m sure a woman as intelligent and beautiful as Marg — Miss Buchanan is seen around town often.

BR: Perhaps, but she seems to prefer your company.

TM: Now, what would a woman like Miss Buchanan see in a lowly police detective?

BR: Good question. Tell me, what are your plans for the future?

TM: Do a good job. Maybe eventually be Denver’s first Irish American police chief.

BR: Well, there you have it, readers. A man who is definitely going places. Margaret Buchanan, watch your step. You might just have some competition!

Posted on April 18, 2015, in Guest Author, Writing Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Interview with Trevor McGonigle.

Comments are closed.

