Using Voice

Cec Murphy is running a series on his blog about finding and using voice as a writer.

“Uh, I’d like to, uh, I mean, I’m, uh, going to teach . . .”

That simple piece of dialog tells you about the speaker’s insecurity or uncertainty. Perhaps it’s more obvious when others speak, but we also catch the timidity in their writing when they use statements such as, “It seems to me” or “I like to think.” Or we notice the dogmatism with sentences like this. “If you ever want to succeed you must follow every rule and no deviations. There is only one way to master this topic.” The more unsure of themselves they are, the more they go to one extreme or the other. Learn more.

Donna

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on October 28, 2015, in Research, Writing Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Using Voice.

Comments are closed.

