Author Spotlight — Marilyn Turk

Today we are pleased to host Marilyn Turk as she shares some of her deepest and darkest secrets with us… not really, but read through to the end. She’s giving away a free copy of her book to one lucky winner.

In response to some of our probing questions, Marilyn says:

I’ve always liked lighthouses, but I’d never seen one in real life until a few years ago when I was traveling in Pensacola, Florida, for my job. I was on the Naval Air Station doing business when I saw it. The Pensacola Lighthouse loomed ahead and beckoned. I obeyed and followed a van that turned off the main road towards the lighthouse.

Pulling up in front of the historic keepers’ house, I remember how awestruck I was to look up at the giant black and white tower. It was raining at the time, so the van driver rolled down his window and asked if I needed to get into the lighthouse. I told him I didn’t need to, but I wanted to. He replied that the lighthouse was not open during the week for tourists. That’s when I told him I was an author and needed to see it.

I’d never said that to anyone before. But the man told me to come back in an hour and he’d let me in. I did, and he gave me a personal tour of the lighthouse, the keepers’ quarters and the museum, explaining the history of the area at the same time. From that moment on, I was hooked on lighthouses.

I believe God ordained that moment and that meeting to introduce me to the world of lighthouses. I began to research them and visit them whenever I could, drawing my husband into the pursuit along with me.

When I decided to write a blog¸ I didn’t know what to write about. It was at that time that I believe God told me to write about lighthouses. So that’s what I’ve been doing on a weekly basis ever since, having written close to 300 posts at this point. I read and research lighthouse stories for the blog and because God wanted me to write them, I find a scripture to go along with each story. It was out of this blog that my book, Lighthouse Devotions, developed. It’s been an amazing blessing to connect with lighthouse lovers all over the world through the blog.

Last summer, my husband and I, along with our six-year-old grandson, took a two-month trip through the United States with our travel trailer. We visited the state of Michigan which has more lighthouses than any other state in the country. On our trip, we saw over forty lighthouses and found more stories for my blog, http://pathwayheart.com.

Short description of The Gilded Curse:

In 1942, Lexie Smithfield becomes the only heir to her family’s dwindling fortune after her brother is killed at Pearl Harbor. A mysterious telegram beckons her back to Jekyll Island. Ten years before, the family quit coming to the exclusive Millionaire’s Club after tragic events convinced her mother the island was cursed. Club Superintendent Russell Thompson knows the truth, but he swore never to tell. Will he and Lexie discover the real danger before it’s too late? Check out the book on Amazon at: http://amzn.to/1pkiaNJ

Marilyn has graciously offered to one lucky winner the chance to win a free copy of her book. Simply leave a comment with your email address, and we’ll pop your name into a drawing. First name drawn is the winner. Easy-peasy!

Marilyn Turk has been published in Guideposts magazine, Guideposts books – A Joyful Heart and A Cup of Christmas Cheer, The Upper Room, Clubhouse Jr. Magazine, Chicken Soup for the Soul, and Lighthouse Digest magazine. Her Coastal Lights Legacy series features stories set around lighthouses. Her book, Lighthouse Devotions was published in 2015. Her weekly lighthouse blog can be found at www.pathwayheart.com. She lives in Florida with husband Chuck and enjoys boating, fishing, tennis, and gardening when she’s not climbing lighthouses or playing with her grandsons.

 

 

 

 

Posted on March 17, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Marilyn, great to get to “know” you a little better!

