Author Spotlight — Susan Page Davis

We are excited to host author Susan Page David this week. If you didn’t see her great blog on Tuesday about getting to know our characters, check it out.

Susan is including the first page of her latest book, Hearts of a Cowboy, and is giving away a free copy, so don’t forget to read through to the end and then leave a comment.

Thursday Author/book Spotlight Questions (Choose 3):

  • What fun or unique things can you tell us about yourself?

I trained to shoe horses many years ago. I’m still a licensed farrier, but it’s been a long time since I actually put shoes on a horse. We hire someone to come take care of our daughter’s horse’s feet.

I’m also a stroke survivor (19 years!), and I collect old tea and coffee tins.

 

  • How did you get started writing?

I began writing stories as a child. As an adult, I started working for a newspaper and published several magazine articles before I found my niche in fiction writing. My first sales were short stories, appearing in Woman’s World, GRIT, and Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine. After four years of hard work and many rejections, I sold my first novel.

  • What genre(s) do you write in and why?

I write in several genres, with most of my sixty-plus books being historical novels or contemporary mystery or suspense. I love reading all three of these genres, and it’s hard to choose what to write. I love behind able to vary my settings and tone. I think it keeps my writing fresh to write different types of stories.

 

First page of  “Hearts in Pursuit,” from Heart of a Cowboy:

 

“I think Pablo’s scared.”

“Hold still.” Abigail Bunter ran her hand through her younger brother’s shaggy, pale locks and measured their length between her fingers. She clipped off an inch and scooped up another handful of hair. Charlie’s hair grew so fast, it was all she and her mother could do to keep it shorn to an acceptable length. Next thing you knew, he’d look like one of the old-time buffalo hunters Papa told about.

“What are you talking about, anyway?” she asked as tufts of blond hair fell to the floor.

Charlie was only seven, and Pablo Hardy, the son of rancher Ike Hardy to the north of them, was a friend he saw only now and then, when the ranchers had cause to gather. What on earth would Charlie know about Pablo’s fears?

“Last Sunday, he told me his Grandfather Hernandez wants him to go live with him in Mexico.”

“And Pablo doesn’t want to go?”

Charlie shook his head vigorously.

“Hold still. You don’t want me to stab you by accident, do you?”

Charlie froze on the stool. She began clipping again, and he shivered as one scissor blade rested for a moment on his skull.

“Don’t hurt me, Abby.”

“I won’t, if you’ll quit wiggling.”

Twelve-year-old Cynthia, who was peeling potatoes at the table, said matter-of-factly, “Boys always wiggle.”

“I’m sure Pablo’s pa will keep him here,” Abby said to her little brother. Pablo was the only boy close to Charlie’s age living within ten miles of their ranch. She could understand Charlie not wanting to lose his friend. “Mr. Hardy loves Pablo very much, and he wouldn’t want him to go live in Mexico.”

“I hope he stays.” Charlie still sounded fretful.

From outside, Abby heard a shout. She thought it was her father’s voice, but she wasn’t certain. Then hoofbeats drummed swiftly closer, and her mother replied, louder, “What is it? What’s happened?”

Abby and Cynthia stared at each other, and Charlie squirmed around to look up at Abby, his mouth hanging open in surprise.

“You two stay here.” Abby plunked the scissors on the table and dashed out the door.

Her mother stood at the clothesline with a dry petticoat she had taken down flapping in her hands as she gazed toward the approaching horse. Papa’s bay mare galloped toward them, with him leaning low over the saddle.

The mare stopped abruptly just before the doorstep, and Papa slewed to the off side and slid out of the saddle, landing sprawled in the dirt. Ma let out a little cry and ran toward him, still carrying the petticoat. The mare shied and sidestepped, then stood snorting, her sides heaving.

Abby reached Papa first. She went to her knees on the path and touched his shoulder. He moaned and looked up at her, clutching a hand to his side. Beneath his fingers, blood soaked his shirt.

“Papa! What happened?”

“Shot.” He grimaced.

 

This week I’m giving away a copy of Heart of a Cowboy. The winner can choose a paperback or an e-book. (Paperback restricted to USA only).

Bio: Susan Page Davis is the author of more than sixty Christian novels and novellas. Her historical novels have won numerous awards, including the Carol Award, the Will Rogers Medallion for Western Fiction, and the Inspirational Readers’ Choice Contest.

Find her at:

Website: www.susanpagedavis.com

Twitter: @SusanPageDavis

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/susanpagedavisauthor

Susan blog on the 23rd of each month at: www.hhhistory.com

 

Buy Heart of a Cowboy in paperback or Kindle from Amazon:  http://amzn.to/1W3h3yS

The Kindle version is also free on Kindle Unlimited.

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on May 5, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Hi, everyone. Can’t wait to hear from you about this story.

  2. I’d love to see a picture of your tea tin collection sometime on facebook or a blog! Looking forward to reading this collection 🙂

    colorvibrant at gmail dot com

  3. Thanks, Heidi! I guess it’s odd, but I don’t really have any photos of them to post. I’ll go over to my FB author page and post a picture of teapots I discovered at the Charlotte Hall museum in Prescott, AZ recently, though. It fit right in with the new Tearoom Mysteries I’m writing for Guideposts (they start releasing in June, I think).

  4. Hello Heidi: I find it fascinating to learn about others’ collections. Tea tins. Quaint. Do you collect anything? I think the only things I collect now are too many books, and dust bunnies 🙂

  5. Carolyn West

    Cmwest48@icloud.com
    I really like your insight on writing. I am going to start a blog soon to do reviews for NetGalley and hopefully build a following there

  6. Thanks, Carolyn! Let me know if you take author guests on your blog.

  7. AH!?! You left us hanging! *sigh* Lol. Susan – You collect tea tins…but do you like to drink tea as well? That is so cool that you use to shoe horses. I remember the first time my trainer had me check my horse’s hooves to get the mud and pebbles removed I was so nervous…but once I became accustomed to how to hold the horse’s leg (and that I wasn’t hurting her) it was fun!

    Carolyn – thank you for hosting Susan! And for the giveaway. I’m new to your site and I look forward to exploring it! Happy Mother’s Day! 😀

  8. Yes, I do drink tea, Megan. And I know what you mean about that scary feeling when you first start working with horses’ feet. They’re BIG animals, aren’t they?

  9. Pam Lunsford

    I love reading your historical books. I didn’t realize you wrote suspense book, I need to start looking for those books. Can you tell me any names of those books or series.
    Thank God you’ve been stroke free 19 years.

    • Thank you, Pam! My suspense books include Hearts in the Crosshairs, Just Cause, Witness, On a Killer’s Trail (those are from Love Inspired Suspense) and my Frasier Island series: Frasier Island, Finding Marie, and Inside Story.

  10. Yes they are. I never thought of Trigger (Roy Roger’s horse) being a big animal. But after my time with the horses, I realized just how massive they really are!

  11. Historical novels are some of my favorite.I don’t have a kindle or e book, just read the regular books. I will have to look up some more of your novels. So many books; so little time! 😉

    • I love historicals, too, Joan. That’s why I write both historicals and mystery/suspense. And a lot of my historicals have suspense elements in them.

