Deanna Klingel — The Source of the Story

Today I’m thrilled to welcome Deanna Klingel, author, as she shares about where she finds ideas for her stories. Read all the way through to find out how to win a free copy of her latest book, Blue-Eyed Doll.

Whenever I’m a guest speaker, I’m always asked, “Where do you get your ideas for your stories?” The source of ideas for many of my books are stories unto themselves. For instance, Blue-Eyed Doll.

I have YA historical fiction that I sell at Civil War Reenactments. A couple of years ago I was in Buchanan, Virginia. A friend had traveled with me and we were shivering under a metal picnic shelter watching the fog move in and keeping out of the drizzle. It wasn’t going to be a great day, I thought. Then a couple approached my table. He was chatting away, asking questions about my books and being friendly. His wife, a demure Japanese lady, was talking to my friend Chris.

Chris said, “Deanna, are you getting any of this?” She took the lady by the elbow and moved her over to the table. “Tell my friend what you just told me.”

Chris knows a good story when she hears it, and there it was. How she happened to be talking about an event in 1926 on this cold drizzly day, who knows? But I couldn’t wait to get home and start researching this event. How much of it was true? How much would be Japanese government propaganda? Would there be anything available? Who knows about this? It was a fascinating story I’d never heard anything about. I had to write it.

Research is one of my favorite parts of writing history. I learn fascinating things. The problem, naturally, is that I want to share all of it. But for every half dozen things I learn maybe one or two ends up on the page. Writers need to be careful when writing a story, to not overwhelm the story with data that might not really add anything to the story. It’s interesting, it’s informative, but it doesn’t enhance your story.

Don’t discard any of it; it might show up in another work at a later time. Just not this one.

I appreciate my readers so much, I’d like to give one of them a book! Blue-Eyed Doll will be coming to a randomly drawn reader who leaves a comment.

Blue-eyed Doll cover Small

Deanna K. Klingel lives in the mountains of Western North Carolina with her husband and golden retriever. Their seven children are married and raising families around the Southeast. You can find her at booksbydeanna.com and on Facebook, Deanna K. Klingel Author.

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on June 16, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I will be going to amazon.com and looking for the kindle version of your new book. I can’t wait to read it.

