Tamara Lynn Kraft — Author Spotlight

And today I welcome Tamara back as she answers some tough questions. Don’t forget to read to the end and find out how you might win a free e-copy of her latest book, Resurrection of Hope.

Please describe yourself with three words.

Only three? These kind of questions are difficult for me, so I asked my husband and closet friends how they would answer. The consensus seems to be passionate, fun, and leader.

I am passionate. My first passion is God. I want to pursue Him above all else. I also am passionate about my family, my writing, and about children’s ministry. Basically I’m passionate about life in general.

As far as being fun, I love life. I refuse to allow circumstances and cranky people steal my joy. If you meet me at a party or social gathering, I will be the one laughing loud at other people’s jokes and generally having a great time.

I am a leader. Sometimes I try not to be. I’ll sit on my hands and remind myself to stay out of the situation that needs fixed. Since I’ve grown older, I have more success at doing that, but the truth is I can generally identify problems and know how to fix them. That’s how God has wired me. I’m a children’s ministry consultant, and when I go to churches to help them develop an effective children’s ministry, this skill serves me well. When I’m in a situation where I’m not in charge of anything, I work at holding back and not offering advice. Otherwise I come across as a bulldozer which I don’t want to do since my motive is not to be in charge but to help people.

 

What are your hobbies, besides writing and reading?

I have a number of hobbies. Most are related to my other “career”. I am a children’s evangelist and children’s ministry consultant for a ministry called Revival Fire for Kids. The hobbies I have related to that ministry are gospel illusions, puppetry, and making balloon animals.

I have some other hobbies too. I love traveling, and my husband and I are working at visiting every US state. We’ve made it to 40 so far. When I’m not on the road, I love watching classic movies (preferably from the 1930s to the 1950s). Classic movies are an intense course in characterization and story structure. The writers of that time period were brilliant, and the acting couldn’t be any better. They were able to create great stories without all the smut in Hollywood today and still have that element of adventure. I also love knitting. When I was younger, I took dance lessons (tap and ballet on pointe mostly) for twenty years, and I loved it.

What genre(s) do you write in and why?

I am very eclectic when I read novels. I love anything from a Dean Koontz horror novel to a Steven James suspense to a Julie Lessman historical romance, but when it comes to writing, I only write Christian historicals. I get my ideas from events in history. I start wondering what life was like for the people going through those events. Although most of my stories have a strong element of romance in them, adventure is the main element in all my historicals. I love stories that have an element of adventure and conquering insurmountable obstacles. I think even though I read a lot of genres, that’s what the ones I love all have in common.

What can your readers expect from you next?

I have a lot of projects in the works. My first full-length novel, Alice’s Notions is due to come out in April, 2017 through Desert Breeze.

I have a series of novels written called Ladies of Oberlin. Oberlin College was the only college before the Civil War that allowed women and black to get college degrees alongside white men. Charles Finney from the Second Great Awakening was the president of the college, and many of the social reforms of the time as well as the missionary movement started there.

I wrote a western with very little romance called Forks in the Road that I’m considering publishing independently. Another series I’m currently working on is called Jamestown Brides about women who traveled to Jamestown Colony in the early 1600s to find men to marry. That’s about it for now, but I have lots of ideas rattling around in my head that might eventually find their way on paper including a series of historical children’s novels.

Thank you for having me on your blog, Donna. I enjoyed getting to know your readers better.

 

About Tamara:

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures. She loves to write historical fiction set in the United States because there are so many stories in American history. There are strong elements of faith, romance, suspense and adventure in her stories. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest and has other novellas in print. She’s been married for 37 years to the love of her life, Rick, and has two married adult children and two grandchildren. You can purchase her latest novella, Resurrection of Hope at most online stores including Desert Breeze. Join Tamera on her website at http://tameralynnkraft.net, her blog at http://tameralynnkraft.com, Facebook http://facebook.com/tameralynnkraft or Twitter http://twitter.com/tamerakraft.

Tamera is giving away an e-Book version of Resurrection of Hope to one person who comments answering the following question: What period of history do you love reading about?

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on July 14, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Tamara Lynn Kraft — Author Spotlight.

Comments are closed.

