Amber Stockton — Author Spotlight

I am thrilled to welcome Amber back again today. And read all the way through — she’s giving away a free copy of her book!

Here she answers three tough questions for us:

  1. If you were an animal, which one would you be, and why?

I’d be a bald eagle. The primary reason is they are one of the few mammals which mate for life. They only seek another mate if they lose their first. I don’t believe in the idea that if you don’t like the person you chose to marry, you just divorce them and find someone new. Now, of course there are mitigating circumstances such as abuse of any kind and infidelity, but far too many people today don’t take commitment seriously, and they allow the simplest little thing to send them packing, when what they should have done is fought harder for the success of their marriage.

Another reason I love the eagle is when there is a storm, the majority of the animals nearby will hunker down and find a way to endure the storm. They will either stand in the rain until it passes, or they will attempt to find shelter and wait it out. An eagle, however, will fly directly *into* the storm, braving the winds and rain with the goal of reaching the area above the storm where the skies are blue and the weather is beautiful and clear.

Every one of us faces storms in our lives. It’s a fact of life, and storms can’t be avoided. How we respond to those storms is critical to the levels of success we achieve. I look to the eagle for inspiration and have used it as an icon for my business at home.

 

  1. What do you think about when you’re alone in your car?

Honestly? I think about all the distracted drivers out there who have gotten behind the wheel of a two-thousand-pound vehicle and are either focused on something else or driving completely unaware of any other drivers on the road with them. See, I tend to be a talking driver as it helps me release the stress other drivers cause me when they’re not driving defensively and not taking other drivers into consideration. I know they can’t hear me, but that’s okay. It makes me feel better voicing my frustrations so I don’t succumb to road rage. If you ride along with me, though, you probably don’t want to be eating or drinking anything because you never know what zany things might come out of my mouth. *grins*

One of my biggest pet peeves is those who drive far below the posted speed limit. I grew up on the East Coast, and there, the speed limit is actually seen as the actual speed you’re supposed to drive on that road, not the limit. So, when drivers are going 15-20 miles below the posted speed, I get antsy and do everything I can to get around them. It’s times like these when I’m so glad to have my iPod handy and playing my favorite tunes. Music truly does “soothe the savage beast.”

 

  1. Tell me about your ideal reader.

I have encountered a handful of these along my writing journey. Each one of them comes from a different walk of life, and even a completely different background, growing up in a different state altogether. But one thing they all have in common is loving my books so much they tell everyone they know about them and recommend my books all the time. Not only do they purchase every book I’ve ever written, but they buy additional copies as gifts for family members and friends they know would also love my stories. Whenever someone asks them who their favorite author is, my name ends up being somewhere in the mix.

Another aspect I love about these readers is they take the time to write a short note to me, whether via email, comments on my blog, a handwritten card or letter, or interacting with me on social media. I get the opportunity to learn more about them and hear what they loved or didn’t love about my books. This is always great, as I am able to know what works and doesn’t work so I can improve with my next book.

Finally, I can almost always count on these readers to write reviews of my books and post them on GoodReads, or retail web sites which sell my books, and even share their reviews online in various sources or post on social media with a mention of my book. I, in turn, offer free copies of my books as gratitude, or I include them when I’m brainstorming something for a new novel, and I have even named characters after them in some of my books. Sometimes, I’ve even sent small little thank-you gifts to them. I can’t do that all the time, but I do what I can to show them how much they’re appreciated.

An author is nothing and can go nowhere without readers, so we greatly need you in order to continue doing what we love and sharing our books with you. My ideal readers keep me going!

** Don’t forget! I’m giving away a FREE copy of my latest release, Blue Ribbon Brides. Check out the post from Tuesday for your chance to win. Thank you for hanging out with me this week.

tiff_headshot_lowres

Tiffany Amber Stockton has been crafting and embellishing stories since childhood, when she was accused of having a very active imagination and cited with talking entirely too much. Today, she has honed those skills to become an award-winning author and speaker who works in the wellness industry, helping others become their best from the inside out.

She lives with her husband and fellow author, Stuart Vaughn Stockton, in Colorado. They have one girl and one boy, and a Retriever mix named Roxie. She has sold twenty (20) books so far and is represented by Tamela Hancock Murray of the Steve Laube Agency. You can also find her on FacebookTwitterPinterest, and LinkedIn or at her web site: www.amberstockton.com.

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on November 17, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Amber Stockton — Author Spotlight.

Comments are closed.

