Jodie Wolfe — Interview with Mae Stafford

Today I am happy to host author Jodie Wolfe as she interviews Mae Stafford, a character in her latest release.

 Jodie: Welcome, Mae, please tell us a little bit about you.

Mae: Thank you for allowing me to be here. Let’s see, I guess one of the most interesting things about me is that I have an identical twin sister.

Jodie: I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be or have a twin. Did you and your sister ever swap places with each other?

 

Mae: (Chuckle). Yes. We attempted several times when we were children, but we could never fool our parents.

 

Jodie: Did you ever switch places as adults?

 

Mae: I tried a few months ago to fill in for Ellie, that’s my twin, at a ranch where she was temporarily filling in as a cook.

 

Jodie: Were they able to tell the difference?

 

Mae: You could say so. My sister is gifted in cooking, me not so much.

 

Jodie: Sounds like there is more to the story. I wished we had time to have you share more about it. Where do you make your home and what do you do?

 

Mae: I’m a seamstress in Calder Springs, Texas. I recently became the sole proprietor of a dress shop.

 

Jodie: Wow! That’s exciting. If you had to narrow it down to one thing, what would you say you desire most in life?

 

Mae: A family of my own.

 

Jodie: I think it’s something many women long for. If you don’t mind, I’d like to share a little more of your story.

 

 

First page of Love in the Seams

 

Chapter One

 

October 1875, Calder Springs, Texas

 

“Will you be my new mama?”

Mae Stafford startled at the small child standing beside her elbow and nearly dropped the garment she’d been sewing. She hadn’t heard the bell chime on the door to her dress shop. Golden strands slipped free of the single plait running down the girl’s back. “Why, I…”

“Nein, mein tochter.”A towering blond man placed a hand on the pixie’s shoulder. The gruff sounds of his language were somehow soothing.  “You’ll have to excuse my daughter.” His gaze didn’t quite meet Mae’s. “Sometimes she forgets—”

“But, Papa. She’s the lady we saw a few months ago with the beautiful white dress.”

Warmth flooded Mae’s cheeks, and she cleared her throat. “You must be thinking of my twin sister, Ellie. She, uh, got married in the beginning of summer.”

“What’s a twin?” Her nose wrinkled.

“It means that both my sister and I were born at the same time. We look alike, although not all twins do.” Mae refrained from touching the child’s shoulder.

The girl leaned against Mae’s leg and stared at her face. “Do you have a husband and children?”

 

 

BIO:

Jodie Wolfe creates novels where hope and quirky meet. She’s been a semi-finalist and finalist in various writing contests and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW). When not writing she enjoys spending time with her husband in Pennsylvania, reading, walking, and being a Grammie. Learn more at http://www.jodiewolfe.com. Jodie is the author of Hearts Tightly Knit, and her latest release, Love in the Seams came out in November.

 

Purchase Links:

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2exeB1g

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Jodie-Wolfe-553400191384913

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JodieAWolfe

Website: http://www.jodiewolfe.com

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on November 29, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thank you for having Mae and myself as a guest today. 🙂

  2. Loved the book and enjoyed the interview with Mae.

  3. Interesting. I look forward to reading all of the story.

  4. I’m drawn into the story. It’s calling my name to be read.

