Letting Go of My Tight Grip — Christina Lorenzen

Today I welcome author Christina Lorenzen as she shares her journey to letting go.

Read all the way through to the end to find out how to enter a drawing to win a free print copy (US Only) of Healing Seas

 

For several years, I had toyed with the idea of trying my hand at writing a historical novel. The push I needed came when my publisher was putting together novella collections for each of the fifty states. Not only did I want to write a novella set in my state of New York, but I was thrilled she was interested in a story set on Long Island, where I live. Long Island, a long narrow island  with a population of seven and a half million people, lies at the bottom of New York State, appearing on a map as an almost appendage looking piece of land. We have everything here – beaches, vineyards, lakes and a rich, fascinating history. The perfect setting for a book.

My dream of writing a pirate story set in the 1700s was going to come true. I did quite a bit of research. I wrote the first chapter. Then the doubts crept in. Was the dialogue accurate? Were the details historically correct? The excitement and joy I had felt quickly turned to stress and discouragement. Within a week I gave up. Looking to destress, I sat down to watch a movie with my daughter. Dealing with a few bumps in the road to her senior thesis, she was the perfect movie companion. Ironically, the movie The Titanic became our escape.

Between us, we had seen the movie more than a dozen times. As a filmmaker, my daughter loves to point out camera techniques and the effort that went into recreating the costumes from the period.  I can’t watch the movie without thinking about Grandma Dorothea, my husband’s grandmother. My daughter was so blessed to know her great-grandmother into her early teen years. Two things my daughter and her great-grandmother talked about were the phases of the moon and the Titanic.

Being born March 3, 1912, a week before the sinking of the Titanic, Grandma grew up hearing stories of one of the biggest tragedies of that year.  When the movie came out in 1997, my mother-in-law had no choice but to take her mother to see it. To this day she remembers feeling as if time had stopped as they sat in the theater that day, captivated by sights and sounds. That memory led me to the idea that became my first historical novel, Healing Seas.

Though Healing Seas is my fifth novella, it was a first learning experience for me as a writer. I’ve always been determined not to veer from my plans once I have made them. But writing this novella has taught me that sometimes we have to let go of the tight grip we have on our plans. If we’re willing to let go of what we think we want or need, God always provides something better. As I begin my next book, I will remember to let go and see where He takes me once again.

 

About Christina: Christina started writing as a young teen, jotting stories in wire ring composition notebooks. Her first typewriter made it faster to get all those stories out of her head and down on paper. Her love of writing has sustained her through a myriad of jobs that included hairdresser, legal secretary and Avon representative.

Luckily for her, writing proved to be successful and a lot less walking than going door to door. Healing Seas is her fifth book. She is currently working on a contemporary spin on the fairy tale, Rapunzel. When she isn’t writing or reading, she can be found walking her dog, talking to her herd of cats and spending time with her family.

 

Where to find Christina:

Facebook author page:      https://www.facebook.com/ChristinaLorenzenAuthor/

Website:          http://christinalorenzen.com/

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/ChrisFoxLorenz

Amazon buy link:    http://tinyurl.com/ybrw8mo3

 

About Healing Seas:

In just a matter of days, Addie Mayfield’s life is upended. Through an arrangement her father makes, she sets sail on the RMS Titanic as governess to the two young Fairchild children. When tragedy strikes, she finds herself rescued alongside strangers on the RMS Carpathia, headed for New York City. Far from home, she is taken in by the O’Reilly family to wait for her family to send for her. With no money for her passage home, she’s brought to the small hamlet of Montauk to become a caretaker for a great aunt she has never met.

Captain Frank Shea is a man without a ship. Removed from duty as captain of the RMS Morrow, he’s come to Montauk to recover from a leg injury. More painful than the injury is his fall from grace after spending his entire life at sea. The ocean was his home and he has never needed anyone. Now faced with an uncertain future, he’s desperate for a way back to the sea. Until he meets Addie Mayfield, a woman who is just as lost as he is.

Can these two people find hope for the future after all they’ve lost? Can an unexpected love heal two broken souls?

 

FIRST PAGE of Healing Seas:

 

CHAPTER ONE

Addie Mayfield pulled the ill-fitting, long wool coat closer to her body and huddled against the cold vinyl backseat of the touring car. Mrs.O’Reilly, pregnant with her sixth child, had gifted her the coat, not having been able to fit in it for years. As noisy and chaotic as the O’Reilly house had been, it had been a comforting escape from the tragedy she’d been through three months ago. But even days filled with laughing and crying children couldn’t help her escape once the sun went down. Every night she would lie in bed, fighting sleep and the ensuing dreams that took her back to that horrific night in April when the RMS Titanic and the Fairchild family succumbed to the icy ocean.

Despite the warm late June sun, she felt a chill, in part because of lingering memories and in part because she was headed to the home of a great aunt she had never met. Her plans, or rather her parent’s plans, had changed on a dime. Just three months ago she had been sailing on the Atlantic, her two charges tugging playfully at her dress, or rather one of the dresses Mrs. Fairchild had ordered for her, breathing in the sea air.

Becoming a governess to rather rambunctious children had not been her dream. She wasn’t quite sure it had been her parents’ dream for her either. But it had been a means. A means to escape the life her parents did not want for her. They wanted better. Velma and Arnold Mayfield were hard working people. Velma was a seamstress and cleaning woman, juggling the two demands while raising Addie and her sister Emma. Her father worked on the railroad and at night would often work down at the docks. Between them her parents had four jobs. Addie was the oldest and they’d taken great care in deciding what she should do. While Addie had pleaded to pursue drawing, she’d been drawing for as long as she could remember, her parents had argued for sensibility. And there was no money for art school. Despite their hardships, occasionally her mother would go into a ‘proper lady’ jag when it came to her mention of a career. No. They wanted for her to marry a man who could provide for her and provide for her well.

 

How to win a print copy (US only): leave a comment and your email address, and you will be entered into a random drawing.

Posted on June 2, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Missy Tippens

    A wonderful interview! Chris, I’m glad you stepped out and wrote something new. The story sounds great!

    • I don’t even know how I ended up right here, but I thought this publish used to be great. I do not recognise who you might be however certainly you7;821&#re going to a well-known blogger when you are not already Cheers!

  2. I want to read this story. 🙂 ahenderson312(at)gmail(dot)com

    • Yes I am, though I wasn’t at the time this article was written. I had several issues with the web server the last weeks and several more opitmizations have been added to it. They will probably be wrapped in a new article. The facts in this article still stand though.

  3. Thank you so much for stopping by Missy! It really was a huge step for me. And I had so much fun writing it too.

  4. I hope you enjoy it and please visit my author page on Facebook and keep in touch! I’d love to hear from you!

