Character interview with Sarah from The English Proposal — Jenna Brandt

Today I’m excited to welcome author Jenna Brandt as she shares a character interview from her latest release, The English Proposal; answers some tough questions so we can get to know her better; lets us take a sneak peek into her book; AND offers a lucky reader a free ebook. Read all the way through to find out how to enter the random drawing.

I caught Sarah sitting in the parlor working on a cross stitch piece, and thought it would be a good time to ask a few questions.

  1. If you had a free day with no responsibilities and your only mission was to enjoy yourself, what would you do? “I would go into town and purchase a scone from the local bakery and sit and read a book.”
  2. What impression do you make on people when they first meet you? “I do not know. I have never thought about it… I suppose I come across reserved.”
  3. What’s your idea of a good marriage? “I hear the earl and his late wife had a good marriage and I hope Lady Margaret will have the same when she marries the viscount.”
  4. What are you most proud of about your life? “I have managed to keep my lady out of trouble, despite all her antics over the years.”
  5. What are you most ashamed of in your life? “I knew about my lady’s secret meetings with the duke and I never did anything to stop it.”
  6. What do you believe about God? “That He loves me and He watches out for me.”
  7. Is there anything you’ve always wanted to do but haven’t done? “I have never swum in a lake and I hear there is a splendid one on the Brookehaven estate.”
  8. What’s the worst thing that’s happened in your life? “What did you learn from it? “Both my parents died from consumption within a year of each other when I was little. I learned to rely on myself.”
  9. Tell me about your best friend. “Lady Margaret, although with her getting married, I have been distancing myself. She needs to put her relationship with the viscount as her priority.”
  10. What’s the worst thing you’ve ever done to someone? Why? “Once, when the duke came to talk to the earl, I made sure to slip a little too much Tamarind into his cup of tea while he waited. I worried he was going to ruin my lady’s relationship with the viscount, so I wanted to cause him to not want to come back. I heard from some servants at his estate that for three days after, he was constantly visiting the privy and couldn’t eat.”
  11. What would you like it to say on your tombstone? “She was a kind and faithful servant who loved her mistress.”
  12. Describe your ideal mate. “Like I have mentioned, I think Lady Margaret is quite lucky to have the eye of the viscount, so I am partial to fair-haired men with deep brown eyes. I would not mind catching the eye of another man who looks like that.”
  13. What are you most afraid of? “What will happen if my lady chooses the wrong man to marry.”
  14. What do you like best about yourself? Least? “I like that I am loyal. I wish I could be more assertive.”
  15. What do you like best about Lady Margaret? Least? “I like that she is kind to all of the servants and she genuinely tries to please her father. I do not like the fact that she thinks she is in love with the Duke of Witherton.”

13177985_10206441133811000_1529186980204341074_n     The English Proposal Ebook cover

About Jenna:

Jenna Brandt is a Christian historical fiction author and her books span from the Victorian to Western eras with elements of romance, suspense and faith. Her first book, The English Proposal released on 5-29-17 and it is the first book in her series, The Window to the Heart Saga.

She has been an avid reader since she could hold a book and started writing stories almost as early. She has been published in several newspapers as well as edited for multiple papers. She graduated with her Bachelor of Arts in English from Bethany College and was the Editor-in-Chief of my college newspaper. She’s an on-going contributor for The Mighty Website and her first Blog was published on Yahoo Parenting and The Grief Toolbox as well as featured on the ABC News and Good Morning America websites.

Writing is her passion but she also enjoys cooking, watching movies, reading, engaging in social media and spending time with her three young daughters and husband where they live in the Central Valley of California. She is also active in her local church where she volunteers on their first impressions team as well as write features for the church’s creative team.

 

She is offering the prologue and first two chapters of The English Proposal for free on Wattpad.

To find out more about Jenna, to sign-up for her newsletter, or to purchase her book, visit her website at http://www.jennabrandt.com/

Facebook: www.facebook.com/JennaBrandtAuthor  Twitter: https://twitter.com/JennaDBrandt

Universal buy link: http://books2read.com/u/49xBDd

Getting to know Jenna:

  • What genre(s) do you write in and why? I write Christian historical books with romance and suspense elements. I was always drawn to historical romances but did not like all the graphic sex scenes in the books. Then I read a Christian historical romance and realized I could write a book with all the romance of the books I loved, just without the vulgar scenes. Plus, I got the bonus of adding themes about faith and God’s love. I was hooked.
  • What do you think about when you’re alone in your car? I think about my family, my writing, my to-do list which is never-ending between my writing, my family, church activities and our family business. My mind races while I am in the car, and often results in worry. That is when I turn on the local Christian radio station and worship in my car. It calms me down and keeps me focused on what’s important.
  • Tell us about your next book & when is it being published? Why do you write the kind of books you do? My next two books are The French Encounter on 6-12-17 and The American Conquest on 7-10-17 which are books 2 & 3 in the Window to the Heart Saga. I also have plans for book 4 & 5 which are based around characters from the first three books. I write the type of books I do with the purpose of encouraging fellow Christians and sharing God’s love with non-believers.

Question for readers: What’s the most important aspect of a book to you?

I will give away an ebook of The English Proposal to a reader randomly drawn from those who leave a comment.

1853 Brighton, England

It was a warm spring day as four children played tag in the English garden of the Viscount Rolantry’s country estate. Two of them looked identical with their black curly hair, deep violet eyes, and pale white skin, except one was a boy and one was a girl. The third child was a fair-haired boy with remarkable brown eyes and slender build. The fourth boy, with black hair and matching dark eyes, was not from England but was visiting while his French father conducted business.

“I caught you, Mags,” the dark-haired boy, Randall, yelled at his twin sister, using the nickname he had given her.

Sulking, the petite Margaret complained, “Randall, you promised you would try to catch Henry first.”

Margaret tried to pull free from her “captor” but was unable to break loose and screamed, “Help me, help me,” knowing that one of the other boys would come to her rescue. For even at that age of eight, men fell at Margaret’s feet.

“I demand you release the lady at once,” yelled the French boy, Pierre.

“I will save you, my love,” the fair-haired Henry cried out as he rushed up and stood between the twins, wooden sword in hand. “On guard, you scallywag. Unhand the princess at once,” Henry taunted.

“You cannot have her. She is mine forever,” returned Randall, as he pulled his own wooden sword free from his waistband and swung it at the other boy.

For several moments, the three boys play-fought around Margaret with their wooden swords until Henry grabbed Margaret’s arm with his free hand and said, “You are wrong. She will be mine! I am going to marry her one day.”

Everyone froze for a moment as all the boys, with the exception of her brother, were smitten with Margaret, but none of them ever discussed it.

The twins looked at each other with wide eyes, and then laughingly, they said in unison, “Ewwww!”

Both nodded, not needing to talk of their plan, then bolted in opposite directions.

Heartbroken, Henry hung his head and walked over to the tree nearby. He leaned against it in discouragement.

Margaret turned to see if any of the boys were chasing her and realized Henry was upset. She went to stand next to him and gently put her hand on his arm, asking, “What is wrong, Henry? We were just playing.”

He looked up to meet her eyes and said with sadness, “You are never going to love me like I love you, are you, Margaret?”

“Do not be silly, Henry. You will always be my best friend.”

He looked at Margaret and knew that would never be enough.

 

 

 

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on June 8, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Character interview with Sarah from The English Proposal — Jenna Brandt.

Comments are closed.

