The Hound of Heaven — Latayne Scott

I’m excited to welcome author Latayne Scott today as she talks about her story, A Conspiracy of Breath.

Unfortunately, much of Christian fiction has earned the reputation for being fluffy and focused on escapism. However, those of us who have had difficult lives know that there is admittedly a time for escape, but most of our time is spent in dealing with very real problems that don’t get wrapped up into a neat solution.

My heroine, Priscilla, struggles with selfishness, discouragement, and most of all, disappointment with the fact that she sees miraculous healings done by Paul but her very best friend Cordelia—also a friend of Paul’s– suffers terribly and dies violently.

These were supposed to be the most favored generation of all time! And how they suffered!

Sometimes it feels that God is “after” me. Do you ever feel that way? If you do, you are like Jeremiah, who said:

I am the man who has seen affliction by the rod of the Lord’s wrath. He has driven me away and made me walk in darkness rather than light; indeed, he has turned his hand against me again and again, all day long. He has made my skin and my flesh grow old and has broken my bones. He has besieged me and surrounded me with bitterness and hardship. He has made me dwell in darkness like those long dead.

~ Lamentations 3:1-6

I wrote a poem one time that reflected the thought of a later writer, a man named Francis Thompson, who envisioned God as a hound, chasing relentlessly after him.

The hound of heaven has pursued me

And I coyly hid and cavorted–

Enjoying the chase

Even as I lost a finger or a toe;

Hanks of hair left hanging on

Limbs I’d left

Now

He has cornered me

And He is devouring my arms and legs

And the soft parts

Of my belly

And I have lost

The will to run

(copyright, Latayne C. Scott)

I have concluded, and Priscilla concludes, that process of being chased by Someone stronger and faster than you isn’t a pleasant one. The only thing that makes it endurable is the fact that God pursues us to save us from ourselves.

How has God pursued you to save you from yourself?

About A Conspiracy of Breath

In a richly-textured, controversial and provocative literary work, award-winning author Latayne C. Scott examines: What would it have been like to be a woman, a Gentile, and someone onto whom the Holy Breath moved – to produce what became the mysterious Epistle to the Hebrews in the Bible?

 

About Latayne:

Dr.  Latayne C. Scott (Distinguished Christian Service Award, Pepperdine University) writes controversial books. Her newest one, the critically acclaimed A Conspiracy of Breath, is based on the scholarly theory that a woman wrote part of the Bible. Her first book, The Mormon Mirage–also controversial– has stayed in print almost continuously for almost 40 years. She has nearly two dozen other published books.

One notable recent book is about the discovery of the ancient Biblical city of Sodom (Discovering the City of Sodom.) Her first novel is a murder mystery revolving around a code developed by the early Mormon church. Both are…. controversial.


She’s also won a national award for humor. Her kids say she’s not so funny, but she just holds up the prize check.

Latayne blogs at Latayne.com. She’s @Latayne on Twitter, and Author Latayne C Scott on Facebook.

 

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on September 13, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on The Hound of Heaven — Latayne Scott.

Comments are closed.

