How Fiction Can Transform Lives — Tamara Kraft

I’m excited to welcome author Tamara Kraft today as she talks about the power of fiction and her latest novel, Alice’s Notions.

The Christian life is meant to be a life of transformation. We are not supposed to stay the same as we were when we were first saved. God is moving us to be better, braver, kinder, more like Him. Romans 12:2 says, “And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

As a reader and an author, I have noticed that God often uses fiction to transform me. This shouldn’t be surprising considering the method Jesus used most when He was on Earth, telling stories. Some stories stay with me long after I’ve read “the end.” I find many times that God is using that story to transform my life in some way.

This isn’t only true in stories I read. As I write my novels, God uses my writing to work out that transformation in me. Writer call it a character arc, a journey characters go through to change how they think, act, or believe. As I’m working out those character arcs, I find frequently God is working on a character arc in my life.

For instance, in my novel, Alice’s Notions, Alice Brighton wants a safe life after her husband dies in World War II. Throughout the novel, she learns we can’t hide from life. I’ve learned that often. When bad things happen, I tend to want to hide away in a cave sometimes and not face the issues in my life. God has shown me, as He did Alice, I can’t hide from tragedy, but I can trust Him to guide me through it. When I allow Him to transform me, I become the hero of my own story.

Another issue Alice had was unforgiveness. Greta, a German girl, shows up at Alice’s doorstep reminding her of her unforgiveness toward the nation responsible for her husband’s death. I wouldn’t have been able to write about Alice’s journey toward forgiving her enemies if God hadn’t been dealing with me first about forgiving my enemies. Ouch.

Has God ever used a novel or story to transform your life?

Author Spotlight Questions:

What are you reading right now?

I’m reading a Young Adult Series called Ranger’s Apprentice. My grandson introduced my to it when we plugged his Kindle into the car sound system on a long road trip. By the end of the first novel, I was hooked. I’m currently about to read novel 8 in this twelve novel series. What I like the most about these novels is the underlying Christian world view with heroic characters young people can look up to. There is little mention of God, but the morality thought-out the series is refreshing.

What is your current work in progress?

Currently I’m doing a full rewrite of book two in my Ladies of Oberlin Series. Book 1, Red Sky over America is due to be released February, 2018. Book 2, Lost in the Storm, will be released in November, 2018. Here’s a little blurb about the series.

It’s the middle of the 18th century, a troubled time in American history, when strong women find it difficult to find their place in society. Three women dare to fight against social injustices, but when they fall in love, things get complicated.

Three women roommates, graduates of Oberlin College, challenge society norms to do what is right even though it may cost them everything, including love. Oberlin College, considered radical at the time, was the only co-education, multi-racial college before the Civil War, and its graduates were involved in many progressive era issues including abolition, women’s suffrage, prohibition, and the missionary movement.

In Red Sky over America, in a nation on the brink of war, America confronts slavery and risks being alienated from her slave owning father. In Lost in the Storm, during the Civil War, Lavena challenges a profession ruled by men to become a war correspondent, but will she keep her job by destroying the man she loves? In The Aftermath, when Betsy’s husband comes home from the war as an alcoholic, she uses unladylike tactics to fight against the evils of drink to save her marriage.

Meet the Ladies of Oberlin, the causes they’re willing to fight for, and the men who capture their hearts.

What would be your dream vacation?

I love historic sites and nature. My husband and I love to travel, and we’ve had many dream vacations. One of my favorites was an Alaskan cruise. It was amazing. We have been to forty of the fifty states, and our goal is to go to all fifty. So, some dream vacations in the future include Hawaii, driving up the coast of California and Oregon, and Yellowstone National Park. These three vacations will cover most of the states we’re missing. We’ll only have Delaware and Maine to go.

About Alice’s Notions

In this quaint mountain town, things aren’t always what they seem.

World War 2 widow Alice Brighton returns to the safety of her home town to open a fabric shop. She decides to start a barn quilt tour to bring business to the shop and the town, but what she doesn’t know is sinister forces are using the tour for their own nefarious reasons

Between her mysterious landlord, her German immigrant employee, her neighbors who are acting strange, and a dreamboat security expert who is trying to romance her, Alice doesn’t know who she can trust.

Buying Links:

 

About Tamara:

Tamera Lynn Kraft has always loved adventures. She loves to write historical fiction set in the United States because there are so many stories in American history. There are strong elements of faith, romance, suspense and adventure in her stories. She has received 2nd place in the NOCW contest, 3rd place TARA writer’s contest, and is a finalist in the Frasier Writing Contest and has other novellas in print. She’s been married for 38 years to the love of her life, Rick, and has two married adult children and two grandchildren. Tamera has two novellas in print: A Christmas Promise and Resurrection of Hope. Her first full length novel, Alice’s Notions, was released in April, and the first novel in her new series, Ladies of Oberlin, will be released by Desert Breeze in February 2018.

You can contact Tamera online at these sites.

Website: http://tameralynnkraft.net

Word Sharpeners Blog: http://tameralynnkraft.com

Facebook: http://facebook.com/tameralynnkraft

Twitter: http://twitter.com/tamerakraft

Newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cdybpb

 

 

 

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on September 29, 2017, in Guest Author. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on How Fiction Can Transform Lives — Tamara Kraft.

Comments are closed.

