Finding the Fun in Book Signings — Gail Pallotta

Today I’m happy to welcome author Gail Pallotta as she shares some book signing stories. Read through to the end to find out how to enter the giveaway for a kindle copy of “Barely Above Water”.

I enjoy talking to people at book signings. Sure, I’ve experienced the drawbacks—the person who rushes to my table and asks, “Where’s the restroom?’ without noticing I have books for sale.

I’ve stood by as shoppers charged in the doorway, glanced at my display and held up their hands in stop fashion before I said a word. There have been those who peered at me with doubtful eyes and said nothing when I asked if they’d like to hear about my books.

But many warm, fun times outweigh the awkward moments. I love it when someone strolls to my table and says, “Hi, are these your books? Tell me about them.” And, their eyes light up while I’m talking. They pick up a couple books then choose one and say, “I want this one. Will you sign it?”

Most of the time we chat a while. At one event after a woman purchased a book, I bent over to sign it and heard her ask, “Is there a restaurant nearby?”

I looked up and answered enthusiastically, “Yes, right next door. I love it. I can’t wait to go.”

The woman tilted her head and stared at me.

My daughter, who happened to be there, said, “Mom, she’s looking for a restroom.”

We laughed and laughed as did the three other women with the lady. My daughter said, “If you all lived in the same place, you could go out to lunch and have a great time.”

We agreed we could.

What better place for an author to make new friends than at a book signing?

Book Signing Tips

I’ve read many suggestions for holding book signings. They include having a nice display and offering giveaways, such as a bowl of candy or stack of bookmarks. Some people have a band play for a book launch and others create large signs to draw attention to their tables.

As for me, speaking to customers and making the presentation about the books brief top my list. Since I’m not a well- known author the general public has no idea who I am or what I’m doing. However, once I meet customers quite a few buys books, and most of the time those who don’t take my card. I realize people today are busy and try not to take up too much of their time unless they ask questions about a book, pick it up, or otherwise indicate they’d like to know more than my brief description included.

Question: Do you enjoy holding or going to book signings? Do you have a book signing story to share with us?

(Leave a comment below and be entered to win a kindle copy of “Barely Above Water”.)

ABOUT THE BOOK: Barely Above Water

An illness comes out of nowhere and strikes Suzie Morris. Her boyfriend dumps her. She has no living family, and her physician can’t diagnose the malady.

Suzie relies on her Christian faith as she faces the uncertainty of the disease, and turns to a renowned alternative doctor in Destin, Florida. She takes a job coaching a county-sponsored summer swim team. She’s determined to turn the fun, sometimes comical, rag-tag bunch into winners.

Her handsome boss renews her belief in love, but learns of her mysterious affliction and abruptly cuts romantic ties. Later he has regrets, but can he overcome his fear of losing a loved one and regain Suzie’s trust?

Buy Barely Above Water on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1W4fUXB

FIRST PAGE

Chapter One

Suzie shivered at Carson Snotte’s words, not the March air with its hint of lingering winter.

“Under the circumstances, I don’t think we should see each other.” He threw their relationship to the wind whipping around the Bradford pear tree in her small, grassy yard. Everything spun out of control. Suzie struggled to stand upright on the cement drive in front of her brick condo.

An image of her and Carson entering Blue Mountain, North Carolina’s largest charity event as the King and Queen begged her to hold on to her destiny. The grandeur of his black and white tuxedo, the promise of being seen as the ideal couple, hovered over them as she had floated next to him in her long purple gown. “Don’t say that. I promise I’m going to get to the bottom of this. I’ll fix it.”

Carson’s thin lips snarled, ruining his fine features, his blue eyes staring at Suzie like pieces of stone. “You’ve made a mess of our lives. Who introduced you to drugs? Are you seeing some hood on the side?”

“No, I told you the doctor said I have a foreign substance in my system.” She didn’t add that the physician had said he couldn’t treat her because the labs couldn’t identify it. Carson was already upset.

He guffawed. “Right, can’t they figure out cocaine, or is it heroin?”

Suzie’s heart broke in a million pieces. “I’ve never taken illegal drugs in my life. I don’t even take prescription medicine, and no, I haven’t seen anyone but you in three years.”

Carson waved his long, thin hand then blew air from his mouth. “Seriously, our relationship has deteriorated beyond repair. I’m not sure if you’re actually hooked on something, or if you’re a hypochondriac. Let’s say hypochondriac, and we’ll both be lots happier.”

The fair-haired, athletic guy with broad shoulders pivoted and walked away. Suzie stood with tears rolling down her cheeks. Maybe he was right. There was nothing wrong with her. The ailment was all in her head. Why look even more foolish trying to find someone to cure a disease that didn’t exist? She plunked down on her front stoop and wiped her eyes. The azalea bush beside her blurred with her tears and morphed into an Impressionist painting.

See Dr. Granger. Was she losing it? See Dr. Granger. Who was Dr. Granger? She’d heard the name but couldn’t recall him. See Dr. Granger. You need to see Dr. Granger. The words persisted as though they resounded from a stuck CD player.

###

ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Gail Pallotta

Award-winning author Gail Pallotta’s a wife, mom, swimmer and bargain shopper who loves God, beach sunsets and getting together with friends and family. A Grace Awards Finalist and a Reader’s Favorite Book Award winner, she’s published five books, poems, short stories and two-hundred articles. Some of her articles appear in anthologies while two are in museums.

Sign up for Gail’s newsletter at http://www.gailpallotta.com/mainphp.html

Visit her website at http://www.gailpallotta.com

Her Amazon author page at amazon.com/author/gailpallotta

Her blog at http://www.gailpallotta.blogspot.com

Connect on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/AuthorsandMore

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Hopefulwords

About historythrutheages

I write stories of His Story Through The Ages that offer tales of hope and redemption.

Posted on November 8, 2017, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Finding the Fun in Book Signings — Gail Pallotta.

Comments are closed.

